Coconut & Coriander Black Bean Stew: Easy Meal Idea’s

_MG_6370-3

This is by far one of my favourite easy dinner recipes.

My mother use to make it for me and my siblings growing up, although it was only two years ago that I started making it myself.

Filled with fibre and protein, this black bean and brown rice combo is super healthy AND super filling.

It also gets extra points for how quick it is to make (about 15 minutes).

So yeah, here is the extremely long list of ingredients you’ll need for 4 serving portions:

  • 2 cans of black beans
  • 1 can of low fat/light coconut milk
  • 1 onion (diced)
  • 3 garlic cloves (diced)
  • A handful of fresh coriander (diced)
  • 2TB of extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt to taste

Lame joke, I know.

But seriously, this recipe is so simple, you might already have the ingredients laying around; and if not, most stores sell them at an extremely low price!

Instructions:

  1. Add the 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil to a medium sized pot, turning the heat on low for 30 seconds. Now add in the diced onion and garlic and stir once.
  2. When you begin to smell the aroma of the garlic and onions (or if your nose is useless, just wait until the onion is translucent), add in the remaining ingredients and stir.
  3. Turn the heat up to a soft boil, and stir occasionally for 15 minutes.
  4. Now add in your desired amount of salt and sneak in a cheeky taste 😉

And your done!

I recommend having it with red or brown rice, salad, or quinoa.

 

Enjoy!

_MG_6381

 

 

Leave a comment