Paleo Cashew Butter Protein Cookies

That’s quite a loaded title, but I can’t think of a less descriptive name to give this little creation. Basically, it’s a protein cookie, with a lovely dab of smooth organic cashew butter in the middle. Magical, I know.

As saddening as it is for me to admit, I’ve been slacking big time on the whole “31 Days of Autumn” challenge, but I have a pretty good reason. Monday morning when I woke up, I felt like hell. The same bug that had been passing around my family, inevitably caught on to me. And so, rather than contaminating the kitchen with my disgusting germs, I had to force myself to stay in bed and recover. Of course that didn’t last long, it took me only 4 days to bounce back up and hit the gym. There’s something about sitting around doing nothing that just really irritates me and makes me feel like time is passing me by. So yeah, I’m stubborn and can’t sit my butt still, but I think today it’s safe to say, the majority of my cold has gotten a lot better.

So before I get into the recipe for these lovely cookies, I’d first like to point a few things out.

These make about 6 medium sized cookies, and the macros for all of these combined are:

Kcal:1311/ Carbs: 40g/ Fat:78/ Protein: 116/ Sugar: 9

So an individual cookie is around:

Kcal: 218/ Carbs: 6g/ Fat:  13g/ Protein: 19/ Sugar 1.5

Depending on how you shape them and what not, the measurements might vary, but that’s the general idea.

I’d also like to point out something quite none important  (but still quite helpful… to me), I actually ate all of these to myself, over the course of 4 hours. Which might sound terrible. But when I’m trying to stick to a fitness plan, the more simple my meals are the better. If getting in a bulk of your protein is an issue for you, then perhaps baking up something similar to these cookies might help. I personally hate my plain unflavoured vegan protein shake, so my best bet is to bake with it. And not only is this idea super convenient, but it actually fills me up all day until its dinner time. The mix of protein and fat literally kills my appetite.

The last thing I’d like to mention is something you’ll discover very soon…

This recipe is not only paleo friendly, but actually vegan. I know, shocker!

But if you don’t fancy making yours completely vegan, feel free to swap out the chia seed egg replacement with 2 real eggs. I wont judge you…That much ;).

_MG_2322.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1Tablespoon unrefined coconut oil
  • 105g plain or vanilla flavoured protein powder
  • 1Tablespoon chia seeds
  • 80 Organic Cashew or Almond butter
  • 1/4Cup (38 grams) Organic coconut flour
  • *Optional* 20grams of 72% dark chocolate for drizzling
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3Tablespoon agave syrup
  • 1/2teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 Cups of water
  • You’ll also need 1 flat baking tray and parchment paper

Instructions:

  1. *Skip this part if you’re using regular eggs, but add in the coconut oil at the next step* First thing you need to do is prepare the chia seed egg by pouring 1/2 a cup of water in a mug or bowl, then microwaving for about 30 seconds on high. If you don’t possess a microwave, simply heat the same amount of water in a pot on the stove; just be sure to place it back in the mug or bowl. After the water is hot, pour in the chia seeds and coconut oil, then mix well and set aside while you begin the next process.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, add in the coconut flour, syrup, salt, extract and protein powder. Whisk it all together with a fork or spoon, making sure all the ingredients are evenly combined.
  3. Going back to the chia seed mix, add in 1/2 cup of cold water and mix again. This makes sure the gel wont begin to cook the flour mix. Pour the water into the bowl and whisk it all together again.
  4. Once it’s all combined, preheat your oven to 175C, and prepare a flat baking tray by covering it with a sheet of parchment paper.
  5. Now the fun part. Your dough should resemble a sort of crumby mess, but don’t worry, its meant to. Before you begin to form your cookies, make sure you have the amount of butter measured out and easily accessibly- It’s about to get really sticky.
  6. Start by using a tablespoon to scoop one heaping size of dough into the palm of your less dominant hand (for me, this is my left hand). Using both of yours hands, begin to squish the dough into a circle. Make sure it’s not too thin, it should be 1/2 inch thick. Then place about half a teaspoon of peanut butter into the centre of the dough, following by a pinch of more dough. Gently turn the edges up and bring it into the centre of the circle, being sure to cover the visible spots of peanut butter. If you need more dough to cover the centre, simply grab a pinch more of the mix. Once you’ve completely concealed the butter, gently form into a neat circular cookie place on the lined baking tray. Repeat the process to form the rest.
  7. Once you’re done, place the tray in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. Once they’re done carefully remove tray and allow it to cool in a safe spot.
  8. During this time, you can begin to melt the chocolate. To do so, simply add the chocolate to a small bowl or mug, and microwave for 30-40 seconds. Stir the chocolate with a fork and then begin to drizzle it over the cookies.
  9. Now enjoy.

_MG_2314.jpg

Leave a comment