Apple & Carrot Pumpkin Bread: 31 Days of Autumn

This recipe came about in kind of a funny way. Originally I was planning on making a banana/pumpkin break hybrid (I’ll likely do this at some point), but my lovely brother convinced me to add in other ingredients; resulting in a kind of carrot-cake-pumpkin-hybrid. I have to say, I was really amazed how awesome it came out.

I made my own pumpkin puree by bowling 250grams of fresh pumpkin chunks until tender, then blending them in my food processor until it was a smooth consistency.

You can of course just use regular canned puree, but I have a weird fixation on making as much things from scratch as I possibly can.

 

_MG_2205.jpg

I also made this recipe gluten free, oil free, dairy free, and refined sugar free, but feel free to swap them around using the same quantity

To make this loaf, just keep on scrollin :):

 

Ingredients:

  • 3cups buckwheat flour
  • 2 chia seed eggs (mix 2 tablespoons of whole chia seeds with 1 cup of hot water)
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2cup sweetener or sugar (I used Truvia)
  • 1/4cup of soy milk
  • 250g pumpkin puree
  • 350g grated carrot
  • 2 apples grated
  • *Optional cooking spray

 

Instructions:

  1. Begin by preparing your chia seed egg, then turning on the oven to 170 degree C.
  2. Separately grate the apple and carrot in a bowl. Or use a food processor to blend into small pieces, just be sure not to blend too long that it starts to liquefy.
  3. In a large bowl add in all dry ingredients, followed by the carrot, apple, puree and chia seed mix. Mix well then add in the milk. If the batter is too dry, add in a bit more milk. The batter should be very thick, but still moist.
  4. Spray a loaf baking dish and evenly pour in the batter 3 quarters of the way. Place in the oven and bake for 50-60 minutes. Be sure to check on it and rotate if it appears to be burning on one side or turn down if the middle isn’t cooking as well as the sides.
  5. Once done, place a tooth pick in the middle to check for level of moistness. If the pick comes out covered in pieces and wet, then it’s not done. Simply place back in for a further 10-15 minutes. If it is done, allow the loaf to rest before removing and cutting into slices.
  6. Now enjoy with any spread you like, or plain. I put vegan butter on mine 😉

 

_mg_2211

 

-Baby Vegainz

 

 

Leave a comment